Consiglio Regionale del Piemonte

Vai ai contenuti

Bodies of the Regional Council

Bodies of the Regional Council are the President, the Presidency Office, the Political Groups, the Standing Committees and other committees.
The President represents the Regional Council, convening it, presiding over it, and managing its activities.
The Precidency Office is made up of the President, two Vice-Presidents and three Councillor-Secretaries, to ensure that minority parties are represented.
The election of the President of the Regional Council takes place by secret ballot with the absolute majority of the Council. If no candidate obtains this majority, there will be a ballot between the two candidates with the highest number of votes. In case of a draw, the elder of the candidates will be elected. When electing the vice-presidents and councillor-secretaries, there will be a separate election for each one and each councillor votes, by secret ballot, using the methods established by the rules of procedure.
The Presidency Office holds office for thirty months and its members can be re-elected. The renewal concerns the whole Office.
Political Groups: all the regional councillors must belong to a Political Group. Every Group elects its President who directs its activities.
The Regional Council ensures that every single Group has the availability of structures and staff.
The Groups are made up of councillors elected in the same list, as long as they are elected within a list, which has been presented, with the same ID number, in at least half of the provinces of the region, rounding up to the nearest whole number.
The Groups are also made up of councillors elected in the same list, as long as a corresponding Group exists in the National Parliament (Chamber or Senate).

The Groups must be made up of:

  • at least three councillors;
  • at least two councillors, if a corresponding Group is set up in the National Parliament (Chamber or Senate);
  • at least two councillors in the case of aggregation between Groups set up in compliance with art. 1 of the Council rules of procedure.

The councillors, who are not part of any of the Groups set up in accordance with those specified above, belong to the mixed group.
Six Standing Committees are established at the start of each term. Each of them has a remit that covers a given sector of the general institutional sphere and its powers are limited thereto.
The Committees are appointed in a way that reflects the proportionate strengths of the Political Groups, which distribute their members among the Committees accordingly.
With reference to their scope of competence, the Standing Committees have legislative, investigative, policy-setting and control functions.
In detail, the Committees are as follows:
Committee I: Programming; budget; property; organisation and personnel, e-government; EU policies; regional agencies and private-regional agencies, institutional affairs, federalism; local administrations; equal opportunity; local police; audit (in accordance with art. 34 of the regional Statute).
Committee II: Territorial planning; town planning; residential construction; transport and viability; expropriations; public works; navigation; communications.
Committee III: Economy; industry; commerce; agriculture; trade and crafts; mountain areas; forests; fairs and markets; tourism; mineral and spa waters; fishing and hunting; vocational training; energy; quarries and peat bogs; migration.
Committee IV: Health; assistance; social services; policies for the elderly.
Committee V: Environmental defence and environmental impact; water resources; pollution; industrial dumps and waste disposal; hydrogeological layout; civil protection; parks and protected areas.
Committee VI: Culture and entertainment; cultural heritage; museums and libraries; education and school buildings and; university, research; youth policies; sport and leisure; cooperation and solidarity; linguistic minorities.

Other Committees

Permanent consultative bodies

Committee of the Piedmont Region for the affirmation of the Italian Resistance values and Constitutional principles

Committee of Elected Women

Regional Committee for Europe

Regional Committee for Human Rights

Regional Monitoring Committee for Usury Phenomena

Regional Women’s Council

Regional Youth Council